Alchemist’s Travel Kit – Update

Dominique Bréchault - Alchemist's Travel Kit - Locket with chain.

Dominique Bréchault – Alchemist’s Travel Kit – Locket with chain.

In a previous post, I related the fabrication process of “Alchemist’s Travel Kit”, a locket I intended to submit to an exhibition. It was a long process involving several metalworking techniques, like die-forming, a technique I also described in that post.

I was under a lot of stress, trying not only to finish the piece, but gathering as well all the material and information needed for the submission, and all this, under a fast-approaching deadline. In the end, everything worked out: the piece was finished, the photos shot, the statement written on time… and my piece was accepted!

This juried exhibition called “Circle Craft – 40 years and Beyond” is a group show featuring 45 members of Circle Craft Cooperative in celebration of its 40th anniversary. Here is an excerpt of the Media Release: This show marks an important anniversary, a recognition of the past, but…is also a show about the future. Forty years ago, Circle Craft Cooperative was formed in Victoria, BC to support the viability and growth of craft in British Columbia. A measure of its success can be seen in the works created by today’s members, works that push the boundaries of “the applied arts”.

I have been a proud member Of Circle Craft since 1998, and I am thrilled to be part of this show.

The exhibition takes place August 6-23 at the Pendulum Gallery, HSBC Building, 885 West Georgia, in Vancouver.

Dominique Bréchault - Alchemist's Travel Kit. Locket. Sterling silver, 18k & 14k gold, patina. Fabricated. die-formed, cast, stamped, fused. (Shown with lid closed)

Dominique Bréchault – Alchemist’s Travel Kit. Locket. Sterling silver, 18k & 14k gold, patina. Fabricated. die-formed, cast, stamped, fused. (Shown with lid closed)

Dominique Bréchault - Alchemist's Travel Kit. Locket. (Shown with lid open)

Dominique Bréchault – Alchemist’s Travel Kit. Locket. (Shown with lid open)

12 thoughts on “Alchemist’s Travel Kit – Update

  1. Robert

    Dominique,
    A sterling, stunning piece that will make the anniversary show shine.
    We’re singing in the sun for you here on Gabriola.

    Lots of love,
    Bob

    Reply
  2. Kristin

    Dominique, What a beautiful and unique piece! Congratulations on the show. I enjoyed your post about the making the locket, from paper to the finished piece.

    Reply
    1. metalandmettle Post author

      This piece is close to my heart. Unlike most of my other pieces, it came together late in the process (after adjustments had to be made to meet the deadline) – so, until the end, I wasn’t sure about putting it “out there” in the real world.
      I am glad you enjoyed the process. Thank you so much for your feedback, Kristin!

      Reply
  3. artdoesmatter

    Dominique, your finished piece is gorgeous. I naturally had assumed that since it was hydraulic die-formed, you’d be sawing off the edges around the pouch to solder everything together “flush” – but what you made is ten times better and actually references a true pouch! Just like a pouch would be sewn around the perimeter and have seams sewn in leather/fiber, your edges are silver. I love it. And the chain and pouch cover “lid” is so unique and really accentuates the underlying meaning of it being an alchemist’s pouch. I’m so envious of the folks that’ll see your lovely piece in-person – congrats on being accepted to such a wonderful show!

    Reply
    1. metalandmettle Post author

      Oh, Patricia, you’re so kind!
      I chose this technique because I thought it would give the metal the soft feel of leather or fabric (forming it without leaving tool/hammer marks) – of course, getting there was a bit more complicated… Metal being what it is, there were a few technical hurdles to contend with. In the end, I had to add an extra piece of silver inside the “pouch” so I could solder the two sides together. A learning experience to be sure.
      Thank you!

      Reply
  4. evadesignseditor

    Wow, the piece has such wonderful form. I have no expertise judging the technical details, but I think it is lovely. One just wants to keep looking at it and study the shapes – I think that’s the ultimate proof how well it captures the viewer.

    Reply

Leave a comment