Stuck for an idea?

Frottage is a useful technique for finding inspiration when you have “designer’s block”. I learnt about this technique when I was studying jewellery many years ago, and I have been sharing it with my own students ever since.

This technique was developed by the Surrealist painter Max Ernst in 1925. One day, tired of staring at his blank canvas, he was looking at the wooden floor and daydreaming, and the lines and the marks on the floor started morphing into various images. He decided then to lay sheets of paper on the floor and to rub (frottage comes from the French frotter – to rub) the paper over the textured surface with a pencil. From these, Ernst was inspired to create a series of drawings, called Histoire naturelle.

Max Ernst, from “Histoire Naturelle”, 1926.
MoMA, New York

Here is how I channel my inner Max Ernst:

I walk around my studio, or I go outside and “collect” textures. I just rub the surfaces through sheets of paper, randomly. The key is to work fast, without thinking too hard. It does not matter if the patterns overlap.

Rubbings can be found anywhere: on a concrete walkway, a crate, a brick wall, a metal grate, etc. Natural materials (i.e., leaves, bark, etc.) work well too. Tools, kitchen utensils, lettering, anything goes!

Here is my favourite pencil for this, a very fat and very soft pencil (6B):

I use the frottage technique in different ways. Sometimes, I simply look at the patterns on the sheet, until images emerge; this can serve as a point of departure for some ideas or sketches for future jewellery pieces.

Or, if I want to focus more specifically on textures or surface ornamentation – which I love to incorporate in my work – I pick out areas of the rubbings that appeal to me. Almost any pattern can be translated into metal, using various stamping tools, or techniques like etching, roll-printing, cuttlebone casting, etc. So I grab pieces of scrap metal, stamping tools, hammers, and start experimenting. Or some other times, I cut and paste various areas of the sheets and start assembling them to form necklaces, brooches, rings, whatever inspires me. You could also scan the sheets, and manipulate the shapes further with your computer. Again, the key it not to think too much or to worry about how it can actually be made.

This really works. Thank you Max Ernst! Start experimenting, and have fun. And you’ll probably come up with more ways of using the frottage technique.

D. Bréchault : Brooch “Poppies on the Meseta” – Silver, poppy jasper.
Textures made using various techniques: roll-printing, reticulation, stamping.

7 thoughts on “Stuck for an idea?

  1. fayegreendesign

    This is amazing – the Frottage technique sounds really useful, but it is your excellent array of accompanying images that are truly inspiring. I can’t wait to try it!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Fashioning Rings for Every Finger | fayegreendesign

  3. artdoesmatter

    What a fascinating technique – the frottage. I did not know about this term until now! I peeked at your website, and I really like your “Romanesque” line of rings and brooches. Keep up the great work with your jewelry-making as well as your lovely blog!

    Reply
  4. Rae Maté

    Congratulations on your handsome new blog Dominique! Great title too. I”m pleased to see it featuring your techniques and beautiful jewelry you make. I hope to learn from you, not as a jeweller, but as an artist and blogger.

    Reply
    1. Cassandra Kobayashi

      Love this application of frottage. And love that you’re doing a blog – wonderful copper scrap background image. Look forward to more!

      Reply
  5. Holly

    I used a plain white candle, rubbed with it over lace. I then took watercolor and painted over it. It came out nice, the only problem I had was the paper I used. I’m going to see what it does with watered down acrylic.

    Reply
    1. metalandmettle Post author

      How interesting! I have never tried this. I guess the candle wax acts as a resist? But does it work well with thicker paper? Thank you so much for your comment, and I’d love to know more about your next experiments!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

